5-10-15-20 (for 2nd Half of 2017)

Episode 166 – Friday, July 7th, 2017 (7493)

5-10-15-20 new1

It’s already halfway through of 2017, but until now I’m still looking for happiness because of many struggles happened during the first half of this year. I thought this year would be my best and happiest year, but after all happiest moments happened during the first two months of 2017, what happened next? Evil distractions strike my current life again! Oh no! I became unhappy and bored because I lost a job, not once but twice, and my desire to text or to chat with somebody. Boredom has been there again after having (short-lived) happiness at the start of 2017. Gosh!

But anyway, last January, I published an episode about the things and events happened in my life 5, 10, 15 and 20 years ago. And now, it’s already July and entering the second half of 2017. I will discuss about the same with slight differences compared to what I had done during the first half. To clarify, all these events, including the technology and gadgets that I had, movies that released during that year, music, and hit TV series, happened within the second half in the past 5, 10, 15 and 20 years.

(Note: for notable events, music and movies, these were occurred within July or 2nd half in the past 5, 10, 15 and 20 years ago.)

logo123

Present Day (July 2017)

Career Life: I’m still jobless and still looking for a new, better job after losing my previous job for two months.

In My Family: Since I lost my job, I’m not really happy to stay with my family because of distractions (noise, extreme heat, financial problems) and negativity. My elder brother is still jobless until now, so that I still don’t have any privacy at my own bedroom.

Friendship/Society: I still have a lot of friends mostly from The Feast; however, my interaction and communication with them have been declined because of their busy “schedules”.

Technology: I have still used my long-time personal laptop (to type my stories for this blog) and a cellphone with free data access to Facebook.

Around the Community: I’ve never been going outside the house (except going to St. Clare Monastery in Cabuyao for rare occasion) because of my strict personal security due of my mortal enemies are still around the subdivision.

My Tent Office (and My Bedroom): It is still partly operational, but most of the times I’m so bothered while I’m doing on my works because of my jobless elder brother (as you know, his bedroom is connected to my room thru one entrance door).

My Adversaries: Until now, they are still around not only in the community where I’ve lived for three decades but also elsewhere that most of them are already excommunicated from my friendship.

Love Life: It has been already two years since I became single and no girlfriend. I’m so desperate to look for a “one true love” despite of many problems that I’ve faced right now. (Please ASAP!)

My Worst Problem(s) that I Face Right Now: Financial problem of my family (as being financial unstable), love life, hard to find a new job, and distractions at home.

My Creations and Ideas: I’m still writing my stories and happenings on my blog, My Tent Journal (even though it has only few viewers to read my personal life stories).

My Only Brighter Side: My attendance and service at The Feast (SM Santa Rosa) where I’ve been there for four years.

My Darker Sides: No job, no girlfriend, lack of communication with my friends, financial woe in my family, distractions at home, jobless elder brother, the health of my eldest sister who has been the only one that has a stable job, and the absence of my privacy in my bedroom.

Usage of Communication: Talking – 25%, Chat thru Facebook – 10%, Text Messaging – <1%

Happiness Rate: 5%

Events that Happen Right Now: Donald Trump has been the U.S. President for almost 6 months; Marawi siege over Maute terrorists group; War on Drugs continues.

Sports: Golden State Warriors, featuring the “Super Team” led by Kevin Durant, Stephen Curry, Klay Thompson and Draymond Green, won the 2017 NBA title over LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers; Filipino Senator Manny Pacquiao lost to Australian Jeff Horn.

Songs that We Hear Right Now: “Shape of You” by Ed Sheeran, “That’s What I Like” by Bruno Mars, “Closer” by The Chainsmokers featuring Halsey, and lots of latest songs

Currently Released Movies: Wonder Woman, Despicable Me 3, and Spider-Man Homecoming

Current TV Shows: Ang Probinsyano has been airing for almost two years; La Luna Sangre; and some hit Korean series (although I don’t watch these).

Philippine President: Rodrigo Duterte (on its 2nd year of his presidency)

Jeep Minimum Fare: Php 8.00

2012-film-logo

5 Years Ago (2nd Half of 2012)

Career Life: I recently started to work in a new company in Mandaluyong for a month after I left my old job in Alabang where I worked there for almost two years.

In My Family: The pursuit of happiness with my family had been little bit increased even though I just slept during daytime due of my night shift schedule from my job.

Friendship/Society: I met new officemates to become my new friends when I started to work in Mandaluyong.

Technology: I had a brand-new personal laptop and two cellular phones (the one was bought from my own money in 2011). My knowledge in graphic skills had been increased, and my skills in Microsoft Office had been improved.

Achievements at Work: When I was new to work in Mandaluyong, I was unexpectedly awarded as top performer.

Around the Community: I didn’t go outside during my rest day because of personal security especially to my former crush who became my worst enemy (with her family) in 2009.

My Tent Office (and My Bedroom): My own office was partially open, and my privacy was finally emerged after my elder brother left to work abroad once again. Freedom was there during that time.

My Adversaries: I had still a trauma to my former crush and her family who “ruined” my happiness and my college life because of the worst controversial incident occurred in 2009.

Love Life: Finally I already had my first-ever (non-deaf) girlfriend after she answered my courtship thru text message on June 2012, a month when I also had a new job. During most of second half of 2012, my love life turned into colorful as we had memorable moments since we met finally for the first time and had our first date.

My Worst Problem: Although there were some minor problems especially in my community, I just forgot these past problems because of happy love life.

My Creations and Ideas: Due of my busy works, I didn’t have enough time to write my own documentaries or to create my own ideas about my personal life.

My Brighter Sides: Having a new job, new love life (girlfriend), freedom and having own privacy at my bedroom (my elder brother was in abroad), and full of financial blessings.

My Darker Side: some distractions at home (but these were just minor).

Usage of Communication: Talking – 90%, Text Messaging – 98% (thanks to my long distance girlfriend)

Happiness Rate: 95%

Notable Events Occurred: Comedy King Dolphy died; The Habagat strike in the metro and other parts of the Philippines creating flashfloods; Jesse Robredo, Secretary of Interior and Local Government, died together with two pilots due of plane crash; Pedro Calungsod was canonized in the Vatican City to become the second Filipino saint.

Notable Sporting Events: LeBron James finally won his first NBA championship after he led Miami Heat beating Oklahoma City Thunder; 2012 Summer Olympics were held in London, United Kingdom.

Notable Top Hit Songs: “Somebody That I Used to Know” by Gotye (featuring Kimbra), “Call Me Maybe” by Carly Rae Jepsen, “Payphone” by Maroon 5 (featuring Wiz Khalifa), and “Pusong Bato”

Notable Box-Office Movies: The Amazing Spider-Man (starring Andrew Garfield, Emma Stone), Ice Age: Continental Drift, and The Dark Knight Rises (Christian Bale)

Notable Hit Philippine TV Series: Be Careful With My Heart premiered and became long-running daytime series for almost three years.

Philippine President: Noynoy Aquino (on its 3rd year of his presidency)

Jeep Minimum Fare: Php 8.00

2007

10 Years Ago (2nd Half of 2007)

School Life: I attended college as a sophomore (second year) student at Polytechnic University of the Philippines – Santa Rosa Campus taking Information Technology course, and there were lots of memorable moments together with my college classmates (considering 2007 as my best year during my college life). This was my third year to study in a non-deaf school after being transferred from deaf school in 2005.

In My Family: The pursuit of happiness with my family had been declined because of my pessimistic father and noisy environment at home.

Friendship/Society: Most of my friends were my classmates who were non-deaf studying at PUP – Sta. Rosa.

Technology: I already had a personal computer that was brought by my elder brother who worked abroad. I had a cellular phone which was just borrowed from my mother.

Achievements at School: Although there’s no any achievement that I had in school, I studied hard to pass all the subjects in college.

Around the Community: I had my friends at Tower 5 (others called 2F), located about ¼ mile from my house.

My Tent Office (and My Bedroom): My office inside my bedroom was the most advanced and considered my “second” home during my college days. My private life at my bedroom was the best because my elder brother was not at home due of his working abroad.

My Adversaries: Most of my former deaf enemies were already excommunicated after my life was now belonged to “non-deaf world”.

Love Life: I started to have some feelings to my chubby classmate because of our closeness; however, we almost broke it because of “Cold War” after I discovered my chubby classmate who had her old suitor which made me furious, and my feelings on her were in doubt.  .

My Worst Problem: Although I had love problems and family problems at home, my life was stable especially during my colorful college life.

My Creations and Ideas: Although I was already a member of Artist Guild – Crew in college, my creative drawings had been declined. I still had My Tent Diary 2007 where I wrote most memorable moments in college.

My Brighter Sides: A happier college life because of my classmates and my privacy at My Tent Office.

My Darker Sides: The noise and distractions at home, and problems in looking for first ever non-deaf girlfriend.

Usage of Communication: Talking – 80%, Text Messaging – 60%, Friendster – 12%, E-mail – 7%, Sign Language – <1%

Happiness Rate: 75%

Notable Events Occurred: Former Philippine president Joseph Estrada was convicted for plunder, but almost two months later he was pardoned by President Arroyo; an explosion at Glorietta mall in Makati; The Peninsula Manila siege led by Senator Antonio Trillanes IV.

Notable Sporting Events: San Antonio Spurs swept the Cleveland Cavaliers in the 2007 NBA Finals; it was the first final appearance of LeBron James.

Notable Top Hit Songs: “Umbrella” by Rihanna featuring Jay-Z, “Iingatan Ko (Ang Pag-ibig Mo)” and “Ikaw” by Sarah Geronimo, “Ngiti” and “Gusto Kita” by Ronnie Liang

Notable Box-Office Movies: Ocean’s Thirteen (starring George Clooney, Brad Pitt, Matt Damon), Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer (Jessica Alba, Chris Evans), Evan Almighty (Morgan Freeman), Live Free or Die Hard (Bruce Willis), Ratatouille, Transformers (Megan Fox), and Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson)

Notable Hit Philippine TV Series: Kokey and the Philippine adaptation of Mari Mar, starring Marian Rivera, premiered in primetime.

Philippine President: Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo (on its 7th year of her presidency)

Jeep Minimum Fare: Php 7.50

mlodos2

15 Years Ago (2nd Half of 2002)

School Life: I attended for my sophomore (second) year high school at Philippine School for the Deaf (PSD), and my school life was way better back then.

In My Family: I was still ok to be happy with them although my father lost his job in late 2001.

Friendship/Society: I had many friends who are deaf especially my classmates studying at PSD. I was friendlier back then when I met new friends during high school days. My organization, Tent & Co., was composed with five of my schoolmates and some teachers from the elementary level.

Technology: I was still wishing to have own PC and mobile phone which was way expensive back then.

Achievements at School: I was consistent to get high grades in all school subjects.

Around the Community: Because of my long-time deaf mortal enemy who lived about few meters away from my house, I never go outside to meet some of my neighbors.

My Tent Office (and My Bedroom): My Tent Office was so simpler because there were only few books and notebooks that I kept back then.

My Adversaries: My evil deaf neighbor, with her family, was still there in my territory.

Love Life: (the events occurred about my love life during that year were deleted from my personal history)

My Worst Problem: My evil deaf neighbor was considered as my worst enemy during that time.

My Creations and Ideas: I created several drawings on my old school notebooks.

My Brighter Sides: Some happiness at home and high school life.

My Darker Sides: My deaf enemy who was my neighbor was still around and some distractions at home because of my elder brother.

Usage of Communication: Sign Language – 99%, Talking – 5%, Text Messaging – <1%

Happiness Rate: 58%

Notable Events Occurred: The Organization of African Unity was disbanded and replaced by the African Union; multiple bombs in two nightclubs in Kuta, Indonesia explored killing 202 people; U.S. President George W. Bush signed the Homeland Security Act which led the creation of the Department of Homeland Security.

Notable Sporting Events: Los Angeles Lakers won their third straight NBA title after sweeping New Jersey Nets.

Notable Top Hit Songs: “The Eminem Show” by Eminem and “Hot in Herre” by Nelly

Notable Box-Office Movies: The Bourne Identity (starring Matt Damon), Scooby-Doo, Minority Report (Tom Cruise), Men in Black II (Tommy Lee Jones and Will Smith), and Austin Powers in Goldmember (Mike Myers)

Notable Hit Philippine TV Series: Kay Tagal Kang Hinintay (starring John Lloyd Cruz) and Bituin (starring Nora Aunor) premiered in primetime

Philippine President: Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo (on its 2nd year of her presidency)

Jeep Minimum Fare: Php 4.00

year-1997-1024x563-410x230

20 Years Ago (2nd Half of 1997)

School Life: I attended Grade 3 elementary at PSD, and my school life was so great back then without any problems (considering during the time as “Era of Good Feelings”).

In My Family: My life with my family was way happier as I was bonding with them together during my childhood days.

Friendship/Society: I had many friends who are deaf mostly were my classmates studying at PSD, and my friendship organization, TENT, was grown by increasing members who were my deaf school mates.

Technology: I had no idea about computers back then.

Achievements at School: I was consistent to get high grades in all subjects (making me into “supremacy”).

Around the Community: When I was a young kid, I was always playing with my playmates on the streets. During most summer vacation, I used to play basketball almost every afternoon.

My Tent Office (and My Bedroom): It didn’t exist until 1998.

My Adversaries: None. The year 1997 was considered as my best year (“Era of Good Feelings”) during the time.

Love Life: It didn’t exist (although it was started in late 1997 by having deaf crushes).

My Worst Problem: None. There were no problem or no distractions existed in my young life.

My Creations and Ideas: Some pages of my old books were filled with my drawings.

My Brighter Sides: The happiness, no distractions, and better school life (“Era of Good Feelings”).

My Darker Side: None.

Usage of Communication: Sign Language – 99%, Talking – 3%

Happiness Rate: 100% (more than this number)

Notable Events Occurred: Asian financial crisis; Hong Kong was returned to the People’s Republic of China from United Kingdom; Diana, Princess of Wales died after a car accident in Paris; Mother Teresa, Indian nun, missionary and saint, died.

Notable Sporting Events: Chicago Bulls led by Michael Jordan won their fifth NBA title beating over Utah Jazz.

Notable Top Hit Songs: “I’ll Be Missing You” by Puff Daddy and Faith Evans featuring 112, “MMMBop” by Hanson, “Barbie Girl” by Aqua, and “Candle in the Wind” by Sir Elton John for the tribute of Princess Diana.

Notable Box-Office Movies: Con Air (starring Nicolas Cage), Batman & Robin (George Clooney), My Best Friend’s Wedding (Julia Roberts), Face/Off (John Travolta), Men in Black (Tommy Lee Jones and Will Smith), and Air Force One (Harrison Ford)

Notable Hit Philippine TV Series: Philippine weekly horror series, !OkaTokat, premiered.

Philippine President: Fidel Ramos (on its final year of his presidency)

Jeep Minimum Fare: Php 2.00

Leave a Reply

