The Few, The Merrier

Episode 153 – Friday, May 19th, 2017 (7444)

bukowski-quotes-the-less-i-needed

We’ve seen many vehicles around the roads that make heavy traffic. We’ve seen many people in the metro which make us so crowded (overpopulated, I mean). We’ve spent many hours to work hard at the office or even at home. But oddly, we don’t have a lot of money to save and to spend. Here in my beloved country, there are only few millionaires, and there are some in the middle class (including me and my family even though sometimes we’re struggled for finances), but sadly most Filipinos are poor. Well, anyways, I’m not talking about money because I’m not encouraging any financial teachings or networking to become rich. This episode is all about not so many things that I want to share but is about the few. Yeah, I’m not sharing a lot of stories about my current life, but yet I just want this simpler.

I still remember that I had a foster (host) family when I was in United States as an exchange student several years ago. But unlike in my family at home where they’re many so that they create noise like in a public market, my foster family in the U.S. is just a few – mother, father, and their only son. And because the parents are both deaf, I could speak anything that I wanted. That’s a freedom. Oh well, I really miss it.

Also when I was in the U.S., I studied Alabama School for the Deaf, my host school located in Talladega, and when I was enrolled there as a 12th grader (high school), I had only 20 batch mates (Batch of 2005), and 6 of them became my classmates in most academic subjects. This was the fewest that I ever had in one class during my school life. When I was still a student here at my beloved country, I had 10 to 20 or even 30 classmates in one class/subject. And because we’re many, of course, we created noise in class even our teacher was already there unlike when I was in ASD.

Almost 10 years later in 2014, I finally found a right job where there were only few people. Unlike in my two previous jobs where there were so many workers because they’re working in a big company, my job in San Pedro was just so comfortable and convenience. There were only few workers to become my officemates, less stressful tasks, less overtimes, and less strict rules, but at least there’s just quite enough salary. That’s why I stayed there for three long years with lots of wonderful memories which was really considered as my best job ever!

And when it comes having a confession or sharing, I refer to share my stories thru one-on-one (only one friend that I can talk and confess). Just last Monday, after a whole day of being a jobseeker, I went to one of my friends from Love Life Retreat Batch 4, Miko on his café where my beloved Feast friend, Earl, was there to have our Light Group (LG) meeting. Unfortunately, he was busy talking with his friends from Youth Ministry. And not only that, two of our friends from Feast SM Santa Rosa came to visit, and because of this, they joined with me and Earl to have a Light Group. However, I felt discomfort when I talked with them because of distractions. And I didn’t like to have many friends to gather in a confession (or Light Group) with me. So, it’s better for me to have one-on-one confession with only one (close and trusted) friend in a nice place without any distraction or interruption. I like only one as I like the few one to share my feelings.

For me, I would like to have many friends and things that I’ve done, but I also rather like to have few ones. It’s because I like less – less worries, less distractions, less noise, and less stress. The lesser is better; the few, the merrier. And for this episode which is consisted only less than 750 words (unlike most of my past episodes where I wrote more than 1,000 words), I just want to share this less and simple. And also, there are only few readers to read and to follow my blog. I’m just happy to have some readers, at least. That’s it folks, and have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

