Farewell

Episode 139 – Friday, March 17th, 2017 (7381)

15249f07c6e096d5a6ab7ee794f3c275

Ooops… this is NOT my final episode of my journal, and I’m not telling goodbye that I now stop writing my stories on my blog. Hahaha! But this is just a title on this episode, and I’m sure you’re aware about my situation right now. Last March 9, there was an announcement for me and my work colleagues that our company was now shutting down due of low sales, and sadly we’re now losing our jobs because we didn’t have any tasks given for almost two months to design for the next issue of our magazine. So, this was the end of our working career in that company where I worked there with freedom and happiness for three long years.

Ayyy… it’s so unfortunate for me to have sad endings on the company. Its office was really a second “home” for me and was considered as my “exile country” because I had my own “freedom” from the distractions at home and also for my privacy. Right now, I’m looking for another job opportunity towards my career. I wanna miss the company, its office, and my officemates that they made me happy and funny for three wonderful years. Last Thursday, right after the shocking announcement, we had our short “farewell” party with some beers to cheer and to say goodbye.

Anyway, speaking of farewell, I got my good memories from the past where I had several farewell parties or addresses together with my old friends from the deaf school to my old job. In this episode, I just want to share my encounter of having farewells and goodbyes. I feel reminiscence when I had some flashbacks about my final appearance, my final school day, or my final working day where I missed the places, the things, and the people that they became my new friends as well.

My Final Appearance at PSD (July 30, 2004)

IMG_20140913_082334

This is the main building of Philippine School for the Deaf in Pasay City where I studied for 10 long years with some wonderful memories. (Photo courtesy from LolPhilosopher)

As I passed the examination to become foreign exchange student where I needed to study in the United States for almost one year, my academic studies at Philippine School for the Deaf (PSD) in Pasay City was about to interrupt. I supposed to study my fourth and final year in high school when my application for the exchange program was done. Although I had my worst incidents at school just few weeks before my departure, I made my final days as a student of PSD when I came with my long-time deaf classmates as well as my schoolmates.

On July 30, 2004, I came at PSD for my final appearance, and most of my schoolmates, and my beloved teachers had a “farewell” blowout for me. I also had my farewell address to my beloved classmates and schoolmates that few of them were staying with me in one class for 10 long years. That was the saddest moment that I ever had because I left PSD, where I had studied there for 10 long years with good and bad memories, in exchange for my adventures in the U.S. For almost one year, I missed my “real” fourth year high school at PSD while I was studying in my host school, Alabama School for the Deaf (ASD) in Talladega.

I thought I would be back at PSD to continue my study after the exchange program in 2005, but some things would change in my school life. After the exchange program, I was thinking about my comeback at PSD where I continued my studies there as I repeated for my fourth year high school (my graduation at ASD was not accredited to my high school curriculum in the Philippines due of foreign exchange program). However, it didn’t happen. Unexpectedly, I was transferred to a non-deaf school in Santa Rosa, Laguna where my school life was changed forever.

My Final School Day at ASD (May 25, 2005)

The ASD Graduation was one of my most memorable moments happened during my wonderful life in the U.S. And it was considered as my achievement because I passed all the challenges to study hard in an American education system. My school life at ASD had many memorable moments that I ever had. On the next day, May 25, 2005, I came at ASD for my final school day. I was gathering around the campus to have sightseeing and to bid farewell to most of ASD staffs and some students. I felt I was crying when I remembered wonderful memories in ASD.

011-My friends, ASD vocational staff (05-25-05)

Together with ASD Vocational Staff on my last school day at ASD (Photo courtesy from Tent Archives)

Unexpectedly, it was my final school day as a “deaf” student studying in a deaf institution like ASD. Almost two months later, my school life was changed after I was transferred to study in a non-deaf school as it was the beginning of my new “world”.

My Final Days in the U.S. (Jun. 27-Jul. 1, 2005)

After almost 11 months of my stay in the U.S., I deeply saddened when it was the time to go back home. A day before my departure back to Washington, D.C. for the end-of-stay orientation, my host family – the Woolmakers treated me to have our final trip at Birmingham Zoo. I really enjoyed the trip and the bonding with them as I accompanied them for one last time after living with them for almost a year. On the early morning of June 28, 2005, they accompanied me going to the airport for my departure. I really missed the host family who really took me with love and happiness (I had never seen them personally until 9 years later when they visited the Philippines).

Together with other exchange students, we attended the end-of-stay orientation lasted for four days before we prepared to go back home here at the Philippines. As we entered the plane from the airport, I really missed the U.S. land as I once stepped there for a long time.

tent021-06-28-05

It’s me (far left) with other exchange students at Birmingham International Airport preparing to go back home after one year stay in Alabama, U.S. on June 28, 2005 (Photo courtesy from Tent Archives)

My Final Bonding with Exchange Students (July 6, 2005)

We first met as strangers before attending the orientation in July 2004, but we remained together when we went to the U.S. on the following month. We cried before we separated going to our respective host families across the country. Then after almost 11 months, we met together again to attend the end-of-stay orientation. When we came back home on July 3, 2005, we spent our final days together before we’re heading to go back our respective families across the Philippines. During our final night of the orientation, we shared our experiences and our bonding together as one group representing our nation, and we had our farewell messages to everyone before going to leave. That was the final time when I met most of them (mostly are Muslims from Mindanao). Although we had kept in touch thru Friendster (and later Facebook), we barely remembered our identities years after the exchange program.

My Final Days in College (May 2010)

Four years after being college classmates with lots of good and bad memories, we finally marched into graduation for our Information Technology course at Polytechnic University of the Philippines – Santa Rosa Campus. On May 6, 2010, the PUP-Santa Rosa Commencement Exercises was held, and we were so excited to finish our school life in college. We felt we’re going to miss each other after having good times as classmates.

Months after our graduation, we had our reunion where we held overnight swimming as most of them were already having their own jobs. That was the only time where I joined their reunion bonding after college.

My Final Working Day in Alabang (May 31, 2012)

In December 2010, I started to work for my first ever job in Alabang as a graphic artist. But it was not too stable at all. For almost two years, I had been transferred from one project to another and working with different teams (looked like an NBA player being traded to several teams). Because I felt I was tired to be “traded” in this type of job, I just decided to leave my first job after I was admitted for a new job in Mandaluyong.

HPIM0067

With some of my work colleagues from Alabang after our overnight swimming as my farewell party in Pansol, Calamba, Laguna.

Before my departure, there was a simple farewell party where I joined with some of my work colleagues from Team Romy (Enriquez) in Dex One to have our overnight swimming in a hot spring resort in Pansol, Calamba, Laguna. It was the only time that I had bonding with them during my working career. On my last working day in Alabang, I finished my remaining tasks to complete before my departure. Before I left the building for good, I had some good and bad memories on the company, and I joined with two of my officemates to have our simple farewell celebration.

My Final Working Day in Mandaluyong (Jun. 9, 2013)

After my job stint in Alabang, I thought my new job in Mandaluyong would be better than my previous one; however, it might be even worse. Because of strict implementation in quality, quota, slow computer and internet systems, being far from home, inconvenience in commuting, and some unfriendly officemates, I felt I was unhappy to work with them. The worst was that some of them bullied me because of being silent. In May 2013, I decided to leave my job after only a year, and within four weeks, I spent my final weeks at work with them despite that I was not so comfortable to be with them in one workplace.

On June 9, 2013, it was bright Sunday morning, and it was my final “episode” of my job in Mandaluyong where I finished tasks that were given. After completing my final task, I bid my farewell to my work colleagues who had been with me for one year. Some of them had a simple farewell party for me before I left where we ate some slices of pizza. That was my only good and happy memory in my second job. After leaving from Mandaluyong, I became jobless for months until I found a better job with freedom and happiness.

The Final Days of Long Distance Relationship (June 2015)

On June 13, 2015, I traveled to Nueva Ecija for my meeting with my long distance girlfriend (who lived there for her college) and accompanied her going to Pilar, Bataan for our third anniversary date. We had the happiest and most romantic memories while we’re there to have sightseeing on the place. However, we never thought that this would be our last meeting.

broken heart

Almost two weeks later, a calm Thursday evening of June 25, I had no idea during that night when she texted me telling her serious problem. Because of her complicated reason, we decided to break our long distance relationship (LDR) after three long years. Before our last goodbyes thru text messages, she really thanked me for what I had done for her so great in the past four years (we began as textmates), and we really regretted our companionship as textmates and lovers. It was the saddest moment that I ever had in my love life.

Since our break-up, we never have any communication at all (I just unfriended her on Facebook, and we don’t have any contacts on text). Because of this unexpected incident, my life became dull and loveless so that I felt alone most of the times.

— 0 — 0 — 0 — 0 — 0 — 0 — 0 —

Having farewell is the saddest part of our lives. And it’s really sad for me that these things and events that I had before didn’t last forever. Kumbaga… walang forever! Especially this month is the graduation month where most fourth year high school students will march to end their high school studies. Everything that I had in the past was already gone from my life, but these will always and forever be part of my history books in my life. Everyone is leaving to have a better opportunity. Some had happy endings, but most had sad endings. And even every human life in this world has endings. Life is too short, but we can live for long years so that we shall not waste our time to have our opportunities and to spend our happiness while we’re still living on earth. So, I’m telling that no one will be leaving, no matter happens. Walang iwanan kahit ano pang mangyari!

Leave a Reply

