5-10-15-20 (for 1st Half of 2017)

Episode 119 – Thursday, January 5th, 2017 (7310)

5-10-15-20-new

It’s already 2017, and I hope this will be my better and happier year to me because of the blessings and positivity things in my life. I still remember 20 years ago, when I was so young, my life was way, way better back then. 10 years later, in 2007, my life was quite better especially when I was now belonged to “non-deaf world”. Although there were some conflicts happened during that year, my college life was way better in 2007 because of the happiness with my close college classmates. And now, since it’s already 2017, I don’t think the number ‘7’ is lucky because of the happenings in the past years ended with 7 (1997 and 2007). But because I’m so optimistic, the year 2017 will be great as same as 10 or 20 years ago. I hope so.

Anyway, this is my second episode to be published in 2017, and I just want to share about my happenings in my life occurred 5, 10, 15 and 20 years ago. I decided to make this tradition twice every year (together with my SMS communication episode) as I’ll publish this on the first half (on January) and on the second half (around July) of the year to flashback the events that occurred in my life. And now, I’ll start to share my experience in the present (2017).

Present Day (January 2017)

240_f_94609221_ij9mksipfdam0x0zcmqndadhdauvraq0Career Life: I’m still working at a gaming magazine company in San Pedro, Laguna where I’ve been there for nearly three years – the longest tenure since I started to work after my college graduation.

In My Family: There’s still pretty much the same as I’ve not been comfortable to stay at home because of “toxicity” and “negativity” in my family. My elder brother is still jobless until now, so that I still don’t have any privacy at my own bedroom.

Friendship/Society: I still have a lot of friends mostly from The Feast. Although the interaction and communication thru SMS or text messaging is now declined, I often chat with them thru Facebook chat even though they rarely reply because of their other works.

Technology that I Have: I have still used personal laptop which is already five years old and one new phone that I bought from my elder brother’s girlfriend in exchange of my long-time cellphone that I had used for three years with lots of unforgettable memories.

Around the Community: I’ve never been going outside the house (except going to St. Clare Monastery in Cabuyao every other Saturday mornings) because of my strict personal security due of my mortal enemies are still around the subdivision.

My Tent Office (and My Bedroom): It is still partly operational, but most of the times I’m so bothered while I’m doing on my works because of my jobless elder brother (as you know, his bedroom is connected to my room thru one entrance door).

My Adversaries: Until now, they are still around not only in the community where I’ve lived for three decades but also elsewhere that most of them are already excommunicated from my friendship.

Love Life: I’m still single and loveless for 18 (turning 19) long months, and as always, I’m still looking for a potential girlfriend. (Please ASAP!)

My Worst Problem that I Face Right Now: Aside of strict personal security, I’m still searching for One True Love which is now considered as one of my major problems that I’ve faced right now because I’m getting older.

My Creations and Ideas: Although I’ve been busy working at my job, I’m still able to write my commentaries and documentaries on my blog, My Tent Journal (even though it has only few viewers to read my personal life stories).

Usage of Communication: Talking – 60%, Chat thru Facebook – 5%, Text Messaging – <1%

5 Years Ago (1st Half of 2012)

2012-film-logoCareer Life: I was working at an advertising/phone directory company in Alabang, and my working career was so great when I was bonding with my colleagues.

In My Family: The pursuit of happiness with my family had been little bit increased even though I just slept during daytime due of my night shift schedule from my job.

Friendship/Society: I have so many friends at my work especially when I joined them in bonding moments.

Technology that I Have: I recently bought a personal laptop and two cellular phones (the one was bought from my own money in 2011). My knowledge in graphic skills had been improved.

laptop

Achievements at Work: I was awarded as Best in Quality for the month of January.

Around the Community: I didn’t go outside during my rest day because of personal security especially to my former crush who became my worst enemy (with her family) in 2009.

My Tent Office (and My Bedroom): My own office was still closed (partially) especially my elder brother, who was still living at home after leaving from his job in abroad in 2010, revoked my private life in my office. Three months later, he left to work again abroad, and my privacy was finally emerged as well as my own office.

My Adversaries: I had still a trauma to my former crush and her family who “ruined” my happiness and my college life because of the worst controversial incident occurred in 2009.

1cl7x4Love Life: Despite of having some ladies who were once my crushes at work, I began to fall in love with my long distance friend who had been my textmate. In March, I decided to court her thru text message, and nearly three months later, she answered me to become my first-ever girlfriend even though we had still never met personally until days later after we became lovers. I first thought that my love life would be still almost “dead” at the start of 2012, but later on, it turned into the one of the most memorable and most colorful moments that I finally had a girlfriend during the second half of that year.

My Worst Problem that I Face Right Now: Although it was just a minor problem, I had problem with other colleagues who bullied me at the time of work.

My Creations and Ideas: Because I was so busy at work, I didn’t have enough time to write my own documentaries or to create my own ideas about my personal life.

Usage of Communication: Talking – 90%, Text Messaging – 95% (thanks to my first and only textmate during that time)

10 Years Ago (1st Half of 2007)

2007School Life: I attended college as a freshmen (first year) student at Polytechnic University of the Philippines – Santa Rosa Campus taking Information Technology course, and it was just only my second year to study in a non-deaf school since 2005.

In My Family: The pursuit of happiness with my family had been declined because of my pessimistic father and noisy environment at home.

Friendship/Society: Most of my friends were my classmates who were non-deaf studying at PUP – Sta. Rosa.

Technology that I Have: I had no personal computer of my own until March 2007. I had a cellular phone which was just borrowed from my mother.

Achievements at School: I passed all the major and minor subjects in college to proceed for the sophomore (second) year.

Around the Community: I never met my old friends and former playmates in my neighborhood, but I had my friends at Tower 5 (others called 2F), located about ¼ mile from my house.

My Tent Office (and My Bedroom): My office inside my bedroom was the most advanced and considered my “second” home during my college days. The personal computer came in my office in March. My private life at my bedroom was the best because my elder brother was not at home due of his working abroad.

my-old-tent-office

My own Tent Office inside my bedroom. Note: the door on the right is my elder brother’s bedroom, but he was not at home (he’s working abroad) when this photo was taken around mid-2009. (Photo courtesy from Tent Archives)

My Adversaries: Although most of my former deaf enemies were already excommunicated after my life was now belonged to “non-deaf world”, there was a new one when my pretty crush and classmate later became my “enemy” in March after I discovered her having a boyfriend.

Love Life: I started to fall in love to my pretty crush and classmate; however, my courtship turned into failure after revealing that she had already boyfriend that led me into anger. I had two other crushes in college, but my courtship to them was never happened.

My Worst Problem that I Face Right Now: Although I had love problems and family problems at home, my life was stable especially during my colorful college life.

My Creations and Ideas: Although I was already a member of Artist Guild – Crew in college, my creative drawings had been declined. I began to write My Tent Diary 2007.

Usage of Communication: Talking – 80%, Text Messaging – 60%, Friendster – 15%, E-mail – 5%, Sign Language – 1%

15 Years Ago (1st Half of 2002)

mlodos2School Life: I attended for my freshmen (first) year high school at Philippine School for the Deaf (PSD), and my school life was better back then.

In My Family: I was still ok to be happy with them although my father lost his job in late 2001.

Friendship/Society: I had many friends who are deaf especially my classmates studying at PSD. I was friendlier back then when I met new friends during high school days. My organization, Tent & Co., was composed with five of my schoolmates and some teachers from the elementary level.

Technology that I Have: I was wishing to have own PC and mobile phone which was way expensive back then.

Achievements at School: I received first honorable mention for my eighth consecutive time at PSD.

Around the Community: Because of my long-time deaf mortal enemy who lived about few meters away from my house, I never go outside to meet some of my neighbors.

My Tent Office (and My Bedroom): I used my Tent Office, which was renovated into a wider space in 2001, mostly for my school purposes.

My Adversaries: Although most of my former deaf enemies were already excommunicated after my life was now belonged to “non-deaf world”, there was a new one when my pretty crush and classmate later became my “enemy” in March after I discovered her having a boyfriend.

Love Life: (the events occurred about my love life during that year were deleted from my personal history)

My Worst Problem that I Face Right Now: My evil deaf neighbor was still there in my territory and considered as my worst enemy during that time.

My Creations and Ideas: I created several drawings on my old school notebooks.

Usage of Communication: Sign Language – 99%, Talking – 5%, Text Messaging – <1%

20 Years Ago (1st Half of 1997)

year-1997-1024x563-410x230School Life: I attended for my second grader elementary at PSD, and my school life was so young back then without any problems (because I was just a young kid).

In My Family: My life with my family was way happier as I was bonding with them together during my childhood and my “superpower” days.

Friendship/Society: I had many friends who are deaf mostly were my classmates studying at PSD, and it was the beginning to establish my own organization, TENT, with my close deaf classmates.

Technology that I Have: I had no idea about computers back then.

Achievements at School: I received first honorable mention for my third consecutive time at PSD.

Around the Community: When I was a young kid, I was always playing with my playmates on the streets. During most summer vacation, I used to play basketball almost every afternoon.

My Tent Office (and My Bedroom): It hadn’t been existed until 1998.

My Adversaries: None. The year 1997 was considered as my best year on that time without any enemies or distractions during that time.

Love Life: It didn’t exist.

My Worst Problem that I Face Right Now: None. There were no problem or no distractions existed in my young life.

My Creations and Ideas: Some pages of my old books were filled with my drawings.

Usage of Communication: Sign Language – 99%, Talking – 3%

Leave a Reply

